The Ken Waters Award


The Ken Waters Award is the ultimate award given by the REINT to a real estate practitioner.  This is not an annual award and is only awarded to a practitioner who, after nomination, is shown to have provided services to the profession that exceed exceptional.

The Ken Waters Award is named in honour of Mr Ken Waters, one of the first real estate agents to operate in Darwin, under the trading name of TC Waters. TC Waters had their office in Smith Street - in what is now a car park next to the Rush Surf shop.

Mr Waters was, for some years, the Headmaster of the Darwin Primary School, then situated in Cavanagh Street where the Darwin City Council car park now exists, next to the Post Office.  He also served as the Lord Mayor of Darwin. He went on to start his real estate agency and was heavily involved in forming the REINT, which started its life as an affiliate of the REISA.


Since its inception the Ken Waters Award has been presented only 4 times.

2002 - Tony Pickering

2003 - Les Loy

2006 - David Booth

2014 - Morgan Shearer


REINT Members can nominate a real estate practitioner for recognition with the Ken Waters Award by writing to the REINT CEO.

The decision to grant the Ken Waters Award is made by the REINT President and Council (Board) Members and the following criteria is to be adhered to:

1. The nominee is to be a current financial or Life Member of the REINT;

2. The nominee is to have been actively engaged in, or employed in, the real estate profession in the Northern Territory for a period of not less than ten (10) years;

3. The nominee is to have served the real estate profession with distinction in more than one of the following aspects:

Service on the REINT Council (Board) or a sub-committee approved by the REINT:

Has represented the Northern Territory real estate profession as its delegate to the national REIA Board:

Provided service by way of authorship, research or lecturing for the REINT and the greater profession:

Undertaken community service which fosters and furthers the aims and objectives of the real estate profession: and

Has participated in or led such other activities as to provide exemplary service to the real estate profession that the REINT Council (Board) deems worthy.

4. The nominee has been directly involved in REINT activities for a minimum of five (5) years preceding the nomination;

5. Nomination is to be made by a nominator and seconder, both of whom must at the time of nomination, be current financial or Life Members of the REINT.

6. Nominations must be in written form and must display how the nominee meets and exceeds these criteria;

7. The nomination, in a written form, must be submitted in the first instance to the CEO of the REINT, who will undertake a check of membership records to ascertain currency of membership of the nominator, seconder and nominee.

8. Any number of nominations may be received in any calendar year, however only one (1) Ken Waters Award will be granted in any calendar year.

9. The REINT Council (Board) may decide to reject any or all nominations it receives and is not required to grant a Ken Waters Award if it deems that nominees do not meet the criteria.  If a nomination is rejected by the Council (Board) neither it nor the CEO are required to provide any justification for the decision.

10. In the event the Council (Board) agrees to grant a Ken Waters Award, the nominator will be advised and the presentation will take place at the annual REINT Awards for Professional Excellence in the year the award is decided upon.


Scroll Up